sign up

Get a free fashion PR plan template and special offers exclusive to insiders!

New York Fashion Hall of Fame Announces Nominations

fashion-walk-of-famecredit-skmiec114-3.jpgIn 1999, the Fashion Center BID brought together a distinguished group of fashion editors, retailers, historians and museum curators to create the Fashion Walk of Fame, the first and only permanent landmark that pays tribute to American fashion.

Over the course of the three year project, 24 notable New York designers were given this honor and decorative plaques honoring these designers are embedded in the sidewalks along the East Side of Seventh “Fashion” Avenue from 41st Street to 35th Street. Each plaque displays an original sketch by the designer, a brief description of the designer’s contribution to fashion and the designer’s signature.

This year only one living and one deceased designer will be chosen. From a ballot of 35 candidates, 145 industry professionals will vote to determine the 2008 honorees.

The Fashion Center BID will host a star-studded Induction Ceremony in early 2008, during which the plaques will be unveiled and the Fashion District community will pay tribute to the designer honorees.

The Selections Committee determined the criteria for nomination as follows:

• The designer must be an American designer with a showroom in New York, or clearly be identified as a New York designer;
• The designer must have been in his/her own business for a minimum of 10 years;
• The designer must have been a moving force in the industry, have made a powerful impact on fashion through innovative design or use of materials, or have significantly changed the way in which America dresses.


Living Designers
Carolina Herrera
Michael Kors
Judith Leiber
Bob Mackie
Mary McFaddin
Isaac Mizrahi
Narciso Rodriquez
Ralph Rucci
Arnold Scaasi
Anna Sui
Isabel Toledo
Diane Von Furstenberg
Vera Wang

Deceased Designers
Donald Brroks
Tom Brigance
Hattie Carnegie
Oleg Cassini
Liz Claiborne
Herman Delman
Anne Forgarty
Sophie Gimbel
Elizabeth Hawes
Mr. John
Muriel King
Anne Lowe
Vera Maxwell
Clare Potter
Nettie Rosenstein
Carolyn Schnurer
Adele Simpson
Sally Victor
Ben Zuckerman

To oversee the selection process for induction, The Fashion Center BID established a Fashion Walk of Fame Selections Committee as follows: Valerie Steele, Chairperson; Nichole Fischelis; Harold Koda; Kim Hastreiter; Marylou Luther; Phyllis Magidson; Patricia Mears; Lavelle Olexa; Sally Singer.

To ensure the utmost integrity in the final selection of inductees, ballots have been sent to 145 fashion industry business leaders, historians, archivists and curators.

Past inductees include:
• 2000 – Geoffrey Beene, Bill Blass, Calvin Klein, Ralph Lauren. Halston, Rudi Gernreich, Claire McCardell, Norman Norell
• 2001 – Oscar Del La Renta, James Galanos, Donna Karan, Pauline Trigére, Bonnie Kashan, Giorgio Di Sant’ Angelo, Charles James, Anne Klein
• 2002 – Stephen Burrows, Marc Jacobs, Betsey Johnson, Norma Kamali, Lilly Daché, Perry Ellis, Mainbocher, Willi Smith

The winners will be announced in early 2008.

The Fashion Center Business Improvement District (, a not-for-profit corporation, was established in 1993 to improve the quality of life and economic vitality of Manhattan’s Fashion District. Through programs in the areas of streetscape improvements, sanitation and public safety services, marketing and promotions, economic development, and community service, efforts are aimed at promoting the district as a strategic midtown business location and ensuring New York's position as the fashion capital of the world.

About the author: Crosby Noricks

Known as the "fashion publicist's most powerful accessory," (SD-UT) and the "West Coast 'It' girl of fashion PR," (YFS Magazine) Crosby Noricks is a brand strategist, author and founder of PR Couture. Crosby was included in the iMedia 25 Class of 2012 Internet Marketing Leaders and Innovators, and enjoys helping fashion and lifestyle brands connect with their audiences in meaningful and creative ways.

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Meet Crosby Noricks

Hi. I'm Crosby, Founder of PR Couture, Fashion Brand Strategist and PR Girl Mentor. I care about supporting and celebrating fashion publicists as well as helping companies connect with their audiences in more meaningful ways. Recently, iMedia included me in their annual list of 25 Internet Marketing Leaders and Innovators, along with people from Starbucks, Twitter and Volkswagon, which I think is pretty neat. Like Elle Woods, I am a Gemini-vegetarian (that's about where the similarities end). Let's connect: Check out my full bio, Brand Elixir sessions for brands or shoot me a note at